Weight equals size...not always

09/07/2013 17:49

The start

My visit in the gym begins always with the same routine. After proper worm-up I lie down on the bench and do my full 10 reps with 1billion kg loaded on the  old Olympic bar....well, not really....

I actually never, used big weights to gain muscle. When I started gym, I used to weight around 73 kg and I looked like lamp post with two skinny sticks as arms sticking out of it. (Some people probably still think I look like that)  I always used to love to do the legs, as that was the only body part, I can push more than 5 kg, but man was that boring and not talking about the pain during and after. DOMS anyone :)

My starting weights were more or less pathetic and I really looked stupid. Like child with little rattles in my hands as dumbbells.  But then one wise person in the gym told me:

“It’s not about the weight, it more about the technique and the feel of the muscle working”

My not so Big decision

Back there, I had a little think, looked at the wise guy, who was triple size of me and decided...I don´t care I look silly with my 4kg baby rattles in my hands, everyone had to start somewhere, I start with simple and work on my technique.

Even if you are not the best built man in the gym... at first, don´t worry about it too much. Pay more attention at the way you exercise. Quality is better than quantity, it is true and especially in the gym.

I see guys, who obviously decided to grow up over night and trying 20 kg dumbbells, while nearly squatting under the weight, so their back looks like the got attacked by lordosis and bearing all the problems of the world on their shoulders. It is funny image, but it won’t be funny if something pops.

Patience is the key.

Best thing to do, is have a patience, work on your technique of exercising and gradually increase the weight, when you think 10 reps witch chosen weight is not enough, just add couple of pounds. The result will come for sure. Another good thing to do is to use some creatine based supplements, to give you mental and physical boost, increase power and stamina.

In the gym, do not worry too much, how you looking in eyes of others. Make sure you won’t get hurt, as not many of the big guys will care much about that either.  Keep on working hard and trust me, one day you wake up, look in the mirror and say: Yep, that is, what I am talking about.

Good luck.

 
 

 

Back

Please leave your comments here

Cart: £0.00 (items: 0)